Chocolateva's fruit

try to be usefull person,simplify,share,and smiled ^^

Difference between scanning and skimming ^^


A few days ago, I have read my friend posting and found new vocabulary. Now, I think that this is good idea. We can try this way to increase our vocab and learn english such grammar or pronounciation.(Who know that we’ll be native speaker ^^).But, the major consideration is trying to add vocab, learn it, get experience especially for practising toefel =D and speak english fluently.(If only I lived in UK, I would speak English all the time ^^) I wish I could speak one in my daily activity =p (I remember, My teacher ever told me that I needed partner to practise it and ordered not to delay an occasion) So, let me practise ^_^ (Would you mind correcting me if I’m wrong?). We often read english articles, story or novels.But sometimes, We get troubled to find main idea or know important information quickly. These are tips from my teacher to differentiate between scanning and skimming.

Scanning and skimming is known as the way of or strategy of faster reading. The skill of skimming and scanning are very important when you need to read quickly for information.

Scanning means knowing what information you need to find before you read. You have something in your mind, your eyes, then, move quickly to find that particular information. You scan when you are looking for a fact or a detail or a particular vocabulary word. When you are scanning, you don’t have to read every word to answer the questions and don’t have understand every word.

Skimming means reading quickly for general meaning. You skim reading material to find out about topic, the main idea, and generic structure of passage. For this kind of reading, you only want to find out something and don’t want to know and memorize everything you read. In fact, you should leave out everything except a few important words. There are the words that tell you the general idea.

How do apply it?
Preview for skimming :
– read the title
– observe first and last sentence
– look for appearing frequently word
– answer this question : what is the generic structure of the text above?

just reminder that three kind of main idea :
– deductive when it find in the first paragraph
– inductive when it find in the last paragraph
– implicit when it is conclusion of the paragraph

good luck for trying ^^ I hope it helps us.

source:My english teacher when I’m in high school =) thank you..

34 comments on “Difference between scanning and skimming ^^

  1. kenny oladeru
    December 20, 2010

    i love 2 get d full details abt skimming and scanning and even there difference.any thing about readn and language skill.please on or before friday.send it 2 my email.tanks d lord wil make u best.

    • nazz
      June 26, 2013

      what is the meaning of previewing

    • Lil Brucid
      October 31, 2013

      will dear

    • Tiroyamodimo
      November 15, 2013

      hope u found email

  2. Ela zulaeha
    March 26, 2012

    thank you so much, you have helped me to understand the differences between skimming and scanning, but it will be better if you can explain about reading by preview, beside sikmming and scanning…n_n

  3. gian carlou13
    August 22, 2012

    thank you for the explanation of the skimming and scanning……:)

  4. Hussam A.
    November 6, 2012

    Thanks a lot bro….

    • Wamakena
      June 11, 2014

      thanks you a lot hope that i will pass my exam

  5. Frank James Chomola
    November 9, 2012

    Thank you for giving me knowledge about the difference btn skimming and scanning..Gud job!

  6. Anniebiet
    December 2, 2012

    I can’t differentiate skimming and scanning

    • 1234576
      February 5, 2013

      Then, I wish you to have a good husband

  7. chocolateva
    December 4, 2012

    I’ll try my best to share my opinion about this one :)
    When we have some question and need to answer with short time chance and it may also urgent. Guess…What we have to do? :) just move quickly to find that particular information and focus without understand every word. That’s scanning.

    But skimming, when we wanna answer question, We should try to understand every word and notice word or sentence that appear frequently to know main idea. Search and you’ll find the main idea. :)

  8. sulleyman razaq
    December 5, 2012

    I really enjoyed the reading material.

  9. sulleyman razaq
    December 5, 2012

    I THINK ONE DAY I WILL BE LIKE YOU,BECAUSE HARDLY DO I GET TO READ A GENIUS MATERIAL LIKE YOU

    • chocolateva
      December 7, 2012

      It’s very kind of you :) thank for your kindness
      I just really try to learn and practice english more.. pleasant for me to be your friend that can share each other ^_^

  10. paulmarthin
    December 7, 2012

    am glad you clearified me on the meaning of skimming and scanning. Atleast with the definition shown, i can differentiate between skimming and scanning.but keep informing me anything about english please

  11. stankobrown
    December 12, 2012

    Waoh very very well understood..!tankx bro;-)

  12. Lerato
    January 16, 2013

    I lyk to see more things in the work.

  13. harsh sharma
    May 14, 2013

    10/10

  14. mechelle quijada
    August 8, 2013

    thank you for your nice answer.

  15. mechelle quijada
    August 8, 2013

    i hope, god will bless u………………
    .for sharing what u have known about scanning and skimming.
    thanks again!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. dizo
    October 22, 2013

    thanx neh…god will bless u….

  17. EVA BOITUMELO MOGOLWANE
    October 23, 2013

    thanks 4 providing us wiv in4 dear

  18. chocolateva
    October 24, 2013

    thank you all for coming ^^ hope we can share each other ;)

  19. Onkemwetse Gabalotegwe
    October 25, 2013

    thanks for such critical infor

  20. keatlaretse morakanyane
    October 29, 2013

    i want differences

  21. mokolobetsi tsikwane
    November 9, 2013

    i want to know exactly the difference between scanning and skimming

  22. intan latifa
    November 13, 2013

    thank you for all explanation, it usefull for us :)

  23. gorata
    November 15, 2013

    bravo

  24. Tiroyamodimo
    November 15, 2013

    that nycccc

    via learning

  25. Muhammad Auwal Muktar
    February 14, 2014

    I thanks u 4 differented me scanning nd skimming. The nxt i need to differentiating me b/w head movement nd vocalisatio

  26. Muhammad Auwal Muktar
    February 14, 2014

    I thanks u 4 differented me scanning nd skimming. The nxt i need to differentiating me b/w head movement nd vocalisation. ?

  27. mosses wales
    March 6, 2014

    i love online reading

  28. abdullah al noman
    June 2, 2014

    thanks for information,that can help me a lot…thanks again

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2010 by in Knowledge and tagged , , , .
January 2010
T W T F S S M
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 48,011 hits
